Got out of my comfort zone for once -- good clean fun

girlbug2

Master of Arts
Reaction score
A friend of mine from Krav Maga cross trains in BJJ. He's heard me complaining about how hard it is for women to do groundwork and so he invited me to come over and observe his BJJ class. Hopefully I would be able to get some insight. So yesterday morning we met at his studio.

I confess I almost chickened out and "forgot" to show but I didn't want to leave him hanging. Not sure what I was scared of; being a complete newbie, annoying them with dumb questions, whatever. On some level I was thinking they wouldn't like me because I'm not "one of them".

What a pleasant surprise it turned out to be! The head instructor invited me to join and supplied me with a gi. I happened to be the only girl there that day but everybody was very considerate and helpful and didn't seem to treat me differently. The instruction was excellent and I really learned a lot that I could take back to KM. And, it was even fun! One hour went by quickly.

Even more impressive was the attitude of all the other students. Maybe because of MMA I thought BJJ was one of those things where practicioners were arrogant or looked down on other MAs. Really not the case. If I could describe them in two words it would be "friendly" and "gentlemanly". The teachers really seemed to enjoy what they did and took time out to explain everything to me with no promise that I was ever coming back. That actually made me want to come back, although I don't have enough time to devote to real cross training :(. Possibly I will end up enrolling my boys however.

This experience taught me that seeing the other side of MA, that is, a very different style than what I am used to training in, can benefit. I will always prefer my standing fight I think but I am much happier on the ground now. One less fear to conquer. Maybe even another interest to pursue.

Now if I could just get a handle on sword fighting...;).

Brian R. VanCise