Footwork

Matt Stone

Master of Arts
Reaction score
I have only been studying arnis for under a year, and while the footwork has been instructed and discussed at length, I would be interested to hear how other arnis players train their footwork, and to what degree it has an effect on their fighting methods...

In the kung fu that I have studied for years, footwork methods are very important (doesn't matter how hard you can hit if you can't get close enough to land the strike), and the patterns of movement in Modern Arnis are identical to some of the things I have already studied. When I studied Pekiti-Tirsia years ago (for a very brief time), about all I practiced was the footwork patterns...

Anyway, any anecdotes or insights into your training would be appreciated.

Rich Parsons

A Student of Martial Arts
Founding Member
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Originally posted by arnisador

Modern Arnis generally doesn't stress footwork as much as it should, I think.

Arnisador,

No disrespect, as you know I also train in Modern
Arnis. I am curious as you stated it was not
stressed as much as it should. Was footwork
stressed on some techniques and not others?
Was it stressed early on or more recently? Was
it stressed by certain instructors and not others?
Was it stressed only at certain seminars, such
as those with Wally Jay and Small Circle JJ?

I know a lot of questions, but I am curious of
you point of view and opinion.

Thanks

Rich

Guro Harold

Senior Master
Founding Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score

I tend to agree with you Arnisador. However, Modern Arnis as taught by MARPPIO definitely stresses traditional/classic footwork. Man, the drills they teach and the emphasis on chambering before you forward or backstep challenged me at their seminar here last April!!!

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score