Fencing vs. Kendo/Kumdo

M

MartialArtist

I'm looking to take both kumdo and fencing... I have very little experience with kumdo and relatively no experience with fencing. I'll be taking fencing at the local community college where the instructor was his fencing instructor for one of my students.

Anyone care to enlighten me on the differences on fencing and kumdo, other than design of the weapon (which obviously affects the tactics, strategy, and mechanics).

OP
Y

yilisifu

I've no experience with kumdo. Kendo, yes...but kumdo, no. If kumdo is anything like kendo, then I would say that kumdo and fencing are worlds apart. Not only are the weapons entirely different, but their approaches to fighting are very different.

Fencing is great fun. I once had a student who'd trained in it for some time and we used to practice now and then.

OP
M

MartialArtist

Originally posted by yilisifu
I've no experience with kumdo. Kendo, yes...but kumdo, no. If kumdo is anything like kendo, then I would say that kumdo and fencing are worlds apart. Not only are the weapons entirely different, but their approaches to fighting are very different.

Fencing is great fun. I once had a student who'd trained in it for some time and we used to practice now and then.
How is it technically and tactically different? And I believe modern kumdo and kendo are very similar. I do know however that the swordplay of Korea is significantly different than that of Japan (somewhat), but I do know that kumdo practitioners can compete in kendo tournaments and visa versa.

Samurai

Blue Belt
Founding Member
Reaction score
Kendo and Kumdo are the exact same thing with different vocabulary.

Watch an old 3 Musketeers movie and an old samurai movie. Even though it is Hollywood...you will see a big difference.

--Jeremy Bays

Charles Mahan

Purple Belt
Reaction score