evolution

Enson

3rd Black Belt
Reaction score
can ninjutsu/itsu evolve? can any ma evolve? there has been alot of talk of people going off and doing their own thing for whatever reasons. i'm a musician and i believe that what i teach someone on the piano/organ... if they are capable enough, they should take that and make it better i hope. they don't have to go through all the hard knocks i had to go through becuase i teach them the solution to their problems. isn't that what jkd did? shouldn't we all make our own budo eventually? if we are learning what our sensei/soke/sifu/teacher/coach taught us, and if they are teaching us what they know; then we are learning what they have already learned and we could... go on and enhance that which they have taught us.
i'm not saying that i will go off and start a new art because i am no where near my sensei's knowledge. but i do see others here that have done that and they get crucified for it. even people like hayes, bussey, mr. severe, etc. i do believe that people should give honor where honor is due, but i don't see anything wrong with taking what you were taught and branching off of what your teacher taught you. of course that means that one should probably have a pretty good handle on what has been taught already. just my thoughts. what do you all think?

Dale Seago

Black Belt
Reaction score
Evolution of an art, and someone going off to do their own thing with it and taking it in different directions, are not necessarily the same thing.

Hatsumi sensei has said that a true martial art does not need to fundamentally change just because technology changes, for example: It simply incorporates new things into the overall knowledge base in a consistent way so that the practitioner can make the most effective use of it.

In his years in China circa 1910, for example, Takamatsu sensei killed a fair number of people. . .and frequently used guns to do it.