Dumb Questions

Zoran

Black Belt
Founding Member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
I hate telling non-martial artists that I'm a Martial Artist and especially that I'm a black belt. And the main reason is...."DUMB QUESTIONS"

I'm sure some of you have heard this one, "Did you have to register your hands as a lethal weapon?"

My Favorite was when I came to visit my instructor during the day at his school. When I came in, he was speaking with a prospective student and when my intructor saw me, he immediatetly introduced me as one of his students and walked away. I was a little perplexed by the quick departure, until I spent about 2 minutes with this person. He began asking me some of the strangest questions. I was really looking for an exit at that point. One didn't come up until he asked, "what belt are you?" I replied, "Black Belt". His response, "Wow...does that mean you have a license to kill?". I was thinking at that point I wish I did, then I adlibed my reply, "I did, but they took it away from me", as I pretended to have a nervous eye twitch. I was shocked that he actually took me seriously as he replied "Wow". I told him that my master has to teach me some secret techniques in private. So he left.

As he was leaving, I walked up to my intructor and told him that if it wasn't for the fact that I knew for sure he could kick my but, I'd hit him. He just laughed and said, "I knew you would appreciate it". So I told my intructor, "Don't worry, I told him to come back in an hour, as you would be available then". You know, it was the only time I saw fear in his eyes.

K

Kirk

Originally Posted By: Zoran
I'm sure some of you have heard this one, "Did you have to register your hands as a lethal weapon?"

Does anyone know the origin of this Urban Legend?

T

TLH3rdDan

lol i know it started a long damn time ago lol like back in the 60's or 70's where or who i have no idea it probably came from a movie like most martial arts myths

G

GouRonin