dose anyone that studies JKD cop flack from traditional martialarts sutednts

zendokai guy

White Belt
Reaction score
I do Zen do kai its a mixed style that has only been around for the last 35 years.
now when i go into a martial arts shop or academy or even in general discution, when i get asked what i do i get majorly frowned apon.
i just want to know if any JKD members get those same frowns as i do because they arnt studing something more traditional.

tshadowchaser

Sr. Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Founding Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I have not studied JKD for many years now but I was never frowned on if I told anyone I studied it. Back when I was learning some of it there where many people looking for JKD instructors .

hungfistron

Green Belt
Reaction score
If someone does frowns upon you in this case, its because they lack respect for all martial arts. In my humble opinion there is no such thing as one superior martial art, only masters & students that possess various degrees of skill.

Some people that study a particular martial art believe after a short period of training that they have a clear understanding of anything martial arts related. And they will display this sort of action. There are others that have studied for many years in their art, so when they are confronted with someone that has learned an art that they are unfamiliar with, or that they have an non-researched opinion of, they immediately feel negatively towards that human being.

Sadly there are some people that would give in to such thoughts, and not realize that such negativeness only serves to seperate martial artists and not bring them together.

punisher73

Senior Master
Reaction score
I think that Bruce Lee was famous enough and lots of top guys went to study with him at some point (chuck norris, Joe Lewis, etc) that it gave JKD alot of instant credit.