Diferences between L. Ting's & W. Cheung's style of Wimg Chun

EternalSpringtime

Orange Belt
Reaction score
I studied with the EWTO side of IWTA (Leung Ting). The thing about William Cheung is that he teaches the "Real traditional Wing Chun" as he always states. I think that Wing Chun is not a style but more than some concepts to be applied with the minimum moves. so I really want to know if anyone had trained with the Cheung lineage and can tell us the difference between Cheung's Wing Chun and other Sifus.

As far as Leung Ting's organization, I can say it's very well organized in the way of training. The only problem lies within the large size of the organization, in which like most big organizations, quality sometimes gets lost from a Sifu to a certain student. That's why my advice is to go to Germany or Hong Kong to get the knowledge from the top instructors.

Longzhua

White Belt
Reaction score
EternalSpringtime, I totally agree.
William Cheung is a self appointed grandmaster and nothing else. I find it funny and sometimes demising to the real Wing Chun community that he still spreads his ******** about. But what can you expect, he just wants the money..

Longzhua

almost a ghost

Blue Belt
Reaction score
I've been watching a lot of video's of Cheung doing the forms he teaches and what not that are available on youtube. There's always different way of doing, but what he's doing is *way* different. While one instructor may teach a form different way, the overall structure and principals are still the same, but Cheung's movements seem foreign and highly questionable.

- Sil lum tao
- Chum Kiu
- Biu Gee

- Wooden Dummy

- Pole Form

- Knife form

If you go through those videos, you'll see that what he's doing differs vastly from what his kung fu brothers teach. Especially the knife form which if anything looks more like some kind of wushu form than wing chun.

Last edited by a moderator:

gblnking

Yellow Belt
Reaction score