Coach Sonnon tapes and Systema?

RachelK

Purple Belt
Reaction score
Hello,
I have no martial arts experience, but I became fascinated with Systema after reading this article in the Village Voice (in which Mr. Wheeler is quoted): http://www.villagevoice.com/issues/0338/bastidas.php
I've been in physical therapy for four months for minor kneecap dislocation and "runner's knee," but I really wanted to try Systema, so I taped my kneecap in place and went to the recent Martin Wheeler seminar at Fighthouse in NYC. I told Mr. Wheeler of my injury before the seminar. My kneecap did eventually crack out of its socket after about three hours, but none of the excercises were too rough for me, although some were too hard--the pushups and the leg lifts, but the breathing patterns during these exercises were both relaxing and invigorating. The sparring had a really good vibe, I enjoyed it immensely, especially when partnered with the experienced Systema-ists. Also my physical therapist noted an improvement in my balance after the seminar. I was able to stand on one leg on the trampoline and catch a 20-pound ball without flailing around, as I had been previously. The way Mr. Wheeler encouraged us to stand has some similarities to English horseback riding, with the heel and shoulder in a straight line, hips tilted slightly forward, back straight, not arched, so that rider is seated on the triangle between the seat bone and the pelvic bones. I spent many years horseback riding, and this position feels natural to me. In fact the day after the seminar, I was sore in the same places I would have been after a long ride.
I hope to sign up for Systema classes once my physical therapy sessions are completed.