Chi Sau (play time)

mook jong man

Senior Master
Reaction score
I'm still a novice at this video uploading bizzo so I hope the quality is ok.
This footage is from 9 months ago.
This blokes chi sau sparring has improved quite a bit since then.
I can't move him as easily as I once did , and he gets the odd strike in on me these days.

If anybody else doesn't mind putting some stuff up , I would really be interested to see how other lineages do chi sau sparring.

[video=vimeo;63798440]http://vimeo.com/63798440[/video]

Cyriacus

Senior Master
Reaction score
Besides being as interesting as your other videos that also tweak on my interest in Wing Chun (which is currently totally impossible to put into practice),

Your video uploading is fine. Your camera angle is fine - If you wanted a wider view and theres actually room to move the camera, moving it back and tilting it up a bit should work, and the only nitpick id make is that it filters bright light into white light (the sky, the sun, the area out from under cover...) which can distract from whats actually happening. But really, those are things that arent problems. Theyre just the only things that arent good, so take that as a thumbs up to the rest of how youre recording. The quality of the image doesnt matter much as long as it isnt painful to look at, which this isnt, so thats fine.

Argus

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score
Wow. This is... different.

Alright, well, I have some big questions and concerns about this kind of Chisau. I'm not sure how to ask these without sounding disrespectful; you're much my senior in Wing Chun, and in age, and I usually find your views and advice very sound and logical. I'm in no place to judge what you do, but there are some things that just seem to me to be bad practice here (at least, in so far as my understanding of Chisau is concerned), so I would like to ask you about them.