Bladesmithing / Forging

Steve

Mostly Harmless
Reaction score
Anyone here have experience with bladesmithing, either traditional or otherwise?

As some of you may be aware, I'm a pretty curious guy. I've been thinking about building myself a small, brake drum forge and getting started making some small knives. I'd be very interested in hearing any tips for getting started.

Dirty Dog

MT Senior Moderator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
Years ago, I spent a fair bit of time playing in the SCA. Among other things, I spent some time forging blades. I'm no expert, and I threw most of what I pounded out into the trash. But I did manage to produce a few reasonable blades.
The hardest thing? Patience. You're going to make an awful lot of utter **** before you do something worth keeping.
Stock removal is easier than forging, and with modern materials it produces some really nice blades.
My suggestion:
Start with some commercial kits, where the blade is already formed. Assemble them and shape the grip/guard.
Then get some blade blanks, where the blade is rough shaped and all you're doing is grinding.
Then get some chunks of steel and cut your own blanks.
Lots of places will do the heat treating for you, too, while you're learning.
When you've gotten good at stock removal, THEN try forging. You do a lot of stock removal even on a forged blade, so it makes sense to me to learn in this order. You cannot make a forged blade without doing stock removal, but you can do stock removal without forging.

Tgace

Grandmaster
Reaction score
I've been watching blade making on YouTube for a few years....someday I'll probably try it too. ;)

Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk

Dirty Dog

MT Senior Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score