Biathalon guns

mrhnau

Senior Master
Reaction score
Forgive me if this has been asked, but a search revealed nothing. What type of guns do biathaletes typically use? Caliber and brands? I'm just curious... do normal competition shooters use similar guns, or are they different? What are the restrictions on the guns used? I've noticed a few have almost a crossbow type appearance while some don't. They all seem to have a stock that fits well on the hip. Quite interesting...

Thanks!

Makalakumu

Gonzo Karate Apocalypse
MT Mentor
Reaction score
Also, I'm curious, does anyone do biathalon on MT? I just found out that we have a course about a half mile from my house. I've been dying to get on and give it a try this winter. I've never done it before, but I can ski and I can shoot and I enjoy both, so what the heck. It sounds like an awesome sport...one can get a work out and plug some targets.

I think something in the .22 caliber range would be perfect. Light enough to not drag while skiing and easy to shoot when one is tired.

Makalakumu

Gonzo Karate Apocalypse
MT Mentor
Reaction score
mrhnau said:
UpNorth, see you in 2010? hehe

I'm contemplating it. I'm not such a bad shot or a cc skier. I think I could get myself ready to compete in a couple of years if I put my mind to it. I'll be 33 though. Most of the other athletes will probably have the edge in age.

Oh well, there is always curling...

OP
mrhnau

mrhnau

Senior Master
Reaction score
upnorthkyosa said:
I'm contemplating it. I'm not such a bad shot or a cc skier. I think I could get myself ready to compete in a couple of years if I put my mind to it. I'll be 33 though. Most of the other athletes will probably have the edge in age.

only curling I like is with dumbells :) Thats never going to catch on in the south...

Alot of the competitors who were placing in the games were well into their 30's. Never to late (well, if you are 80, I might think twice about it). Wish I had a track here! well, at least some snow.