Beginner Would Like Some Info

Suomi21

White Belt
Reaction score
Hey everybody, my name is Derek...I am new to the whole martial art scene and I could really use some advice! I am very eager and interested in learning some form of martial arts, but i dont know what direction to take. I really want to learn combat style art, as in striking and kicking..can anybody lead me in the right direction?...thanks for your time

bydand

Senior Master
Reaction score
Welcome to Martial Talk, Derek!

Take some time and search through the different forums and thread here because there is a tremendous amount of information. There are tons of very friendly and helpful people as well. About the best thing you can do to find which art is for you, is to try as many as are avaliable in your area. Go talk to the Instructors, sit in on as many classes as you can. The one that feels best, start on that journey first.

Also where are you located at? As many people that are on MT, maybe someone can recomend a school in your area.

Drac

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Hey everybody, my name is Derek...I am new to the whole martial art scene and I could really use some advice! I am very eager and interested in learning some form of martial arts, but i dont know what direction to take. I really want to learn combat style art, as in striking and kicking..can anybody lead me in the right direction?...thanks for your time

Greetings and Welcome to MT..As far as your question is concerned NO ONE can tell you what the best for you except YOU..Check out the Yellow pages and visit a few schools..If you like what you see take a few classes..DO NOT get roped into any long contracts..Eveyone here has their favorite discipline/style and what works for me will not work for someone else..Hope this was of some help..

exile

To him unconquered.
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score