becoming disillusioned with kenpo...

T

twinkletoes

I've been doing Kenpo Karate since age 8 (15 years ago). I am a 3rd degree black belt at a great (and reputable) school. I also have rank in Modern Arnis, and teach some other styles (including BJJ). I am quickly losing my love of Kenpo. Has anyone else gone through this?

My school has sparring, and our instructor used to box (so he's all about gloving up and seeing what works), but I just can't bring myself to teach katas and prearranged, theoretical techniques any more. My heart isn't in it. After all this BJJ, I want resisting partners and alive training (my BJJ instructor is Roy Harris, and the more I talk with him about JKD, the more I see myself going in that direction).

If you read Parker's works, he speaks almost the same language as Bruce Lee: don't get locked into fixed training, improvise, spar, there is no truth except contact, etc. Doesn't it seem like Kenpo is getting away from that, with all of our non-contact or compliant partner techniques and lots of kata?

Has anyone else felt this way?

~Chris

OP
C

clapping_tiger