Assistance required please?

Kensai

Black Belt
Reaction score
Hey guys, I've been studying Wing Chun for around 18 months now, and although I love it, I'm starting to notice certain short comings. I'm not sure whether it's the way it's being taught, or if it's inherent in the system. We hardly seem to do any kicking, or other techniques, so I've been reading up over the last 4 to 6 weeks on general Shaolin styles, and found this place not too far from me. Any thoughts, or suggestions would be welcome. :asian:

http://www.shaolintemplebirmingham.co.uk/

I know it says that they aren't doing any more classes until further notice, but if, as and when it starts again, I may check it out.

Xue Sheng

All weight is underside
Reaction score
I am hardly an expert on either Wing Chun or Shaolin, but I did train both briefly and I will say Shaolin is definitely more acrobatic than Wing Chun with more high kicks, but this does not sound like a strict Shaolin School.

The teacher trained a Shaolin at age 14 could be a 6 year monk. Not an actual monk but trained at Shaolin in MA for 6 years. Still that is not bad training at all.

He trained in China
Shaolin Steel Jacket - not sure what this is could be Iron Shirt Qi Gong,
Sanshou fighting - Chinese fighting MA similar to MMA
And other forms of Chi Gong for health

And then he trained in the West

Muay Thai,
Western boxing,
Kick boxing.
Then combined them to make what he feels is better

Could be very good could be bad, when you get the chance you should go check it out.

OP
Kensai

Kensai

Black Belt
Reaction score
Xue Sheng said:
I am hardly an expert on either Wing Chun or Shaolin, but I did train both briefly and I will say Shaolin is definitely more acrobatic than Wing Chun with more high kicks, but this does not sound like a strict Shaolin School.

The teacher trained a Shaolin at age 14 could be a 6 year monk. Not an actual monk but trained at Shaolin in MA for 6 years. Still that is not bad training at all.