Am I Just Old Fashion

GuruJim1

Green Belt
Reaction score
I remember when I started training, the art in the Martial Arts was just as important as combat. In this is day of UFC and Pride Fighting it seems that the art is becoming lost. Most MMA is void of forms because of the thought that Kata wont work on the streets. Don't get me wrong I believe in a realistic fighting system as much as anyone, but I don't see as much importance but on practicing of the art.

I love practicing forms (Empty Hands or Weapons), and I enjoy practicing all those fancy kicks. I feel the Martial Arts is not just about destroying your oppenet, but the mastery of your body, mind, and soul. I love being able to amaze people with my forms, and to watch a skilled Martial Artist preform a Kata. I still see the art in Martial Arts, and this brings me to my question, "Am I Just Old Fashion"???

mantis

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
GuruJim1 said:
I remember when I started training, the art in the Martial Arts was just as important as combat. In this is day of UFC and Pride Fighting it seems that the art is becoming lost. Most MMA is void of forms because of the thought that Kata wont work on the streets. Don't get me wrong I believe in a realistic fighting system as much as anyone, but I don't see as much importance but on practicing of the art.

I love practicing forms (Empty Hands or Weapons), and I enjoy practicing all those fancy kicks. I feel the Martial Arts is not just about destroying your oppenet, but the mastery of your body, mind, and soul. I love being able to amaze people with my forms, and to watch a skilled Martial Artist preform a Kata. I still see the art in Martial Arts, and this brings me to my question, "Am I Just Old Fashion"???

No you are not. The western mentality emphasizes that one part of martial arts, which is the fighting. It also appended to it another attribute which is the pride part of it.