alreet? newbie here

rockabilly spike

White Belt
Reaction score
Afternoon!
Am Scotti also known as Spike cos of my spiky hair. I'm 30, from the north east of England and have been into MA since around '99.
started training seriously in 2000 at lau gar kung fu with the local club Kuei Ling martial arts. my main motivation was fitness and interest in the art side as in my earlier years i'd been a gymnast and trampoliner.
my first question to my Sifu's was "do i have to do competitions? cos if so am not bothering"
my two instructors, Sifu Steve East and Sifu Geoff Banks said not unless i wanna compete.
I was in.
have dabbled in various other forms inc a little bit of shotokan, kyusho (through my uncle Sensei Neil Ellison of Teesside Dragon) and escrima but i always came back to the lau gar as i find it has so much hidden in the forms that isnt touched upon until you start looking outwards to other arts too.

I currently hold a purple sash and am working my way through at my own pace which is fine with my instructors.
I'm in no way interested in dissing anyone else's art or style.
what works for me, works for me and might not work for you, tho i'm very open minded towards it all.
i personally dont think combat in all its forms CAN be explained fully through western science.

i'm also a self taught guitarist and play in a rockabilly punk trio called The Slack Rats. gave up booze when I was 19 and have never touched drugs.
i sell and repair computers for a living and share a house with my girlfriend Bethan and my dad who is pretty ill, physically with arthritis.
I love MA in all its forms and i can generally find something useful from any style to add to my arsenal.
my main reason for liking a technique is if its simple and adaptable from style to style and by that i also include for 21st century street defence.
i do not care for competition fighting or who's style might win over who else's.