aikido style differances

C

ct111

I currently take kenpo karate but also have great interest in learning aikido. i have been told their are 3 differant types or styles of aikido. i was curious if someone out could explain the differances to me .thanks ct111

OP
C

CrankyDragon

Your welcome to visit our school's site and ask about Nihon Goshin Aikido.... I think Jeff may chime in and offer some of his knowledge. I am a beginner so I dont want to offer too much information in anticipation I may offer incorrect data.

NGA does have kicks and punches and strikes. Of the soft styles, ours is a "hard" style. Our style focuses on what is practical in real life.

Andrew

Yari

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
ct111 said:
i was curious if someone out could explain the differances to me .thanks ct111

That would be very difficult. In some sense the difference is in the movement, but not in the intention, and sometimes oppesite.

Most Aikido schools (from Ueshiba) ares based on principle, rather that the excat technique. But cetain ways of getting to that principle is the reason you see different styles.

/Yari

theletch1

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Yari said:
That would be very difficult. In some sense the difference is in the movement, but not in the intention, and sometimes oppesite.

Most Aikido schools (from Ueshiba) ares based on principle, rather that the excat technique. But cetain ways of getting to that principle is the reason you see different styles.

/Yari