Aikido in MMA

C

chaosomega

Hi, I'm CHAOSOMEGA...
As you can see, I'm a big newb here.

For my first post I have an interesting question...

Are there any aikido techniques I could learn that would supplement my MMA training... Something that would be allowed in a MMA/NHB contest.

I posted this question here, rather than an Aikido or MMA forum, so I could get a wide range of opinions and wiews.

OP
D

Despairbear

While the competitive aspect of many MMA's is not inline with the philosophy of Aikido, I feel that many of the techniques would work well as they can easyly fall with in the rules of that are present in many MMA formats (UFC comes to mind). I would suggest that you look to your local Aikido dojo and talk to the Teacher about your desire to suppliment your traing with some Aikido. Aikido is quite difficult to learn and I would not suggest simply "picking up a book" and trying to inigrate it. Good luck and remember to have fun.

Despair Bear

OP
M

MartialArtist