Aikido and Tai chi

D

disciple

First of all, I just want to say that I have NO knowledge at all about Japanese art...
My question is: I have been told that Aikido is more less like tai chi. How far alike are those two? Is it only the "using opponent's energy to attack" part or is there something else?

salute

:asian:

Jay Bell

Master Black Belt
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Hi disciple,

Taiji and Aikido do have some likenesses, especially in how they root themselves. Ueshiba sensei studied Bagua Zhang while in China...and I'm sure he did some Taiji as well.

OP
D

Despairbear

The human body only moves in so many ways. The basic goal of all martial arts is the same. The more I study the more I find that all martial arts are the same martial art. Renaissance Italian combat manuals illistrate some of the same throws used in Aikido and Jujitsu, different people on different contenents in different centureys and yet the same moves are done. There are similaritys in all martial arts to all martial arts.

Despair Bear

OP
D

Despairbear

Jeeze my spelling is REALLY bad. Sorry about that but I hope you understand what I was sayng.

Despair Bear

OP
H

Humble artist

My bunch of cents-
What I think is very important thing they have in common is that they both are INTERNAL.It seems to be that japanese and chinese approach to Ki/Chi is a bit different.
Tai chi is a lot like qi-gong and works that way (slow motion solo movements etc. great health benefits) Even though aikidokas talk very much about ki if compared to various other japanese arts like judo,jujutsu (at least to a point) or karate (again,I´d say to a point because my idea is that it comes to play later and they don´t slam it into your face as in aikido :D )
Aikido has some qi-gong in it though,founder built his own kind of short qi-gong set which includes "rowing exercise" and such.