Aikido and Sparring

Budo_NJ

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I've recently been wondering why there is no sparring in all styles of Aikido (other than the Shodokan/Tomiki style). I've been training in Aikido for about 2 years and after recently watching a karate competition I realized a couples of things:

1. The strict forms that they practice seemed to have almost no connection to sparring.
2. The competitors' bounced and took on quick, boxer-like movements.

This made me wonder how I would react when in the same situation. How would I move when I didn't know when/where an attack was coming? How would the pressure of an actual fight psychologically effect my Aikido? Wouldn't sparring help strengthen technique and point out weaknesses?

I'm not talking about formal competitions. I'm just suggesting that sparring might enhance the Aikido curriculum.

Any thoughts?

Monadnock

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score
If the Aikido folk already believe they are teaching everything they want to teach, there really isn't anything you can add to it, and if you do, maybe it isn't Aikido.

If you think YOU need more training to handle different situations, then that is different. You would obviously need more than Aikido training. Ya dig? :)

theletch1

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I dig! And keep on digging. To answer the original question...there is no sparring in the vast majority of aikido styles because aikido is a defensive rather than offensive art. It wouldn't be a very exciting match if both parties involved just stood there waiting for their opponent to give them some energy to work with. Many aikido schools do practice what is called aiki-kuma-kata which is where both aikido-ka take turns attacking and defending at as fast a pace as they can manage. It's as close to sparring as it's likely to get.