Advice

randy.leopard1

White Belt
Reaction score
I'm new to the Taekwondo world and haven't trained in anything else for many years. I just got my yellow belt last month and noticed that on the certificate, my school belongs to the United Tae Kwon Do Ji Do Kwon Federation. I can find very little information about this organization. My family trains with me (wife, 10 year old daughter and 8 year old son) and we are pleased with just being able to do an activity together and with the service we are receiving. Does anyone have any reviews or general information on this organization and will our belts be recognized by other organizations? I hope this makes sense and any help would be appreciated. Thank you.

Dirty Dog

MT Senior Moderator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
The Jido Kwan was one of the original Kwans (schools) that unified to develop Tae Kwon Do. You can find tons of info if you research the history of Tae Kwon Do. Your school may also be affiliated with another org as well, such as the Kukkiwon, ITF or ATA, which would register dan (black belt) ranks.
Typically, belt ranks are only recognised by other schools within the same organization. Jido Kwan schools recognise other Jido Kwan schools. Kukkiwon schools recognise other Kukki schools, etc. If you're expecting to become an olympic competitor, this matters. Otherwise, it probably does not.
Good luck with yoru training.

d1jinx

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
I say the absolute most important thing is that You and your family are happy with your school. Regardless of which Org, if any, they belong to is irrelevant at this point. If you are just beginning and are happy with everything that is the #1 goal.