A Very Humbling Experience

A

auxprix

As some of you may know, I am currently studying in Japan. I have been on a month long hiatus from Judo because of other commitments. Yesteday, I got back into it at a local sporting complex. I'm writing this to both Judoka and non-Judoka alike, so I'll try to give explainations for the terms that they may not be familliar with.

The setup was similar to how we practice in America, except a little more Uchikome (practice throwing) Ukemi (falling technique) and a little less Newaza. Also, a little more Pomp and attention to rank.

Anyways, I saw some REAL Judo. Young blackbelts with increadible skill. I Uchikomed (practice threw) with one younger blackbelt who's Jigotai (defensive posture) was the best I've ever seen. It felt like I was trying to throw one of those easter Island heads over my shoulder. needless to say, it would have been impossible.

I have to admit something. My technique is not rock solid. I'm, however, blessed with good back and abdominal strength and use it to make up for my lack of timing. But these Judoka wouldn't let me get away so easily. 90% of my hip techniques didn't even phase their balance. Later in practice, the head sensei (striped red belt, meaning he's a 6th or 7th dan) worked with me on my Ippon Seoe (back throw). I had always thought I was good at the Ippon, but yesterday's experience told me otherwise. I learned that I have to stop concentrating so hard on endurance and strength, but moreso on Timing and set up.

Then, Randori (live practice). I got schooled. I got schooled good. Almost everything I did was countered or blocked. Again, I am bigger and heavier than most Japanese (I'm 5'11" and 175 lbs) so I thought they'd have some trouble with me. Not so. It would have been embarrasing, but I was so awed by their skill that I didn't care. I appreciated having the opportunity to be beaten by such great practitioners.