Young Man Needs Help

R

Rusty

I originally joined this because my 11 year old daughter got me involved with the Tang Soo Do program at the local Boys and Girls Club. As a result, I have become the Mom who raises money for the program and helps out during the tournaments in various ways, including tossing sparring equipment on up to six children, various ages, and belts. I have never missed a single one of her classes, and help her practice almost every night. (I studied Kenpo as a child but haven't been involved in 30 years.)

I usually visit the Tang Soo Do discussions to get a better understanding of what my child is so involved in.

A friend of mine's 28 year old son was recently in a severe traffic accident and is losing his eye. He is concerned that he won't be able to defend himself, and his self-confidence and self-esteem are very shaken right now. She e-mailed me and asked me to look into the styles of martial arts to get her son involved in. She has seen the difference that it has made in my 11 year old daughter who suffers from ADD, low-self esteem and anger issues. (My child is like a different person.)

Any suggestions?

Blooming Lotus

Purple Belt
Reaction score
interesting situation.........

I don't really have experience with training ppl with this sort of challenge mind, but if it helps the guy out, I have definately seen some extremley impressive deaf / mute and otherwise specific needed practioners ranging from those in wheel chairs to not having various limbs or partial of both missing.

I think I'll leave it to those who have trained or have experience with this particular consideration, but regardless of what he trains, some training is going to assist him a whole lot more than none at all.

Love your work and good luck to both of you.

Blooming Lotus

Kempojujutsu

Master Black Belt
Reaction score