Wise words from a wise woman

Sukerkin

Have the courage to speak softly
MT Mentor
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I could not agree with her more - the frightening lack of basic common-sense survival skills (for want of a better term) is something I have been saying for two decades or more is sorely lacking in the generations that have grown up in this overly 'comfortable' Age.

I was lucky that I was born just long enough ago and in a rural enough town to have learned the truth of that "learn to do or do without" aphorism.

When the cheap energy runs out and we have to turn back the clock a bit, those 'skill-less generations' are going to have one heck of a time. Being able to text one handed whilst watching YouTube is not a valuable talent - being able to sew, fix plumbing, cook on a fire, understand why a mechanical device like a waterwheel drive assembly isn't working ... those are valuable skills.

Of course, we might be lucky and not lose the cheap energy, as long as we put more money into research and development than we do fashion, sub-standard consumerism or X-Factor type crappy TV shows then we might have a chance of not sliding back yet again (as our species has done several times over the millenia) ... oh dear ...

Touch Of Death

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
The company where I work has many different jobs. I avoid learning many of them like the plague. I find if I get good at the jobs I like, the other jobs can't hurt me. Now is that so wrong?:)

OP
granfire

granfire

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
The company where I work has many different jobs. I avoid learning many of them like the plague. I find if I get good at the jobs I like, the other jobs can't hurt me. Now is that so wrong?:)

could come back to bite you when only those jobs are open!

Touch Of Death

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
could come back to bite you when only those jobs are open!