Wing Chun uber alles...

geezer

Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
I love 'Chun. That's why I came back to it after a lay-off of many years. It is my "core-art" and it's principles such as efficiency, economy of motion, yielding, borrowing power, and so forth, have influenced many other things I do in life, from other MAs and sports, to my ceramics technique (I'm a ceramics teacher by profession), to the way I interact with other people (learning to yield and "borrow the force").

Yet in spite of my long term commitment to WC/VT, I still rankle at the attitude that this art is superior to all others, and that you need to give-up any involvement in other MAs, and other similarly distracting and counterproductive activities such as weight training and the like.

Once again I've run up against this attitude from instructors who have counseled me to abandon other activities so I can make real progress in WC. While I might appreciate a sincere, well meaning suggestion, I don't appreciate what feels like pressure to abandon my eskrima (which I've enjoyed immensely since I first began training it back in the early 80s) and other sporting activities, ...weight training and so forth.

Just wondering. Do any of the rest of you ever feel pressure of this kind... especially any of you who are instructors and are therefore expected to "represent" your art? How do you feel about it?

CRCAVirginia

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
My Sifu allows his instructors to have any Martial Art they want in the same school or train any MA they want, his only requirement is that you only teach CRCA Wing Chun.

I would not appreciate someone telling me what I can train and what I can't. I also train BJJ and if I had a large school I would probably teach Aikido as well.

cwk

Blue Belt
Reaction score
I was already practicing northern shaolin before I started wing chun, in fact it was my northern shaolin sifu that introduced me to my wing chun sifu.