Who is Teaching the Children

L

lifewise

How do martial arts schools decide who is qualified to teach children? Is this a concern to school owners/head instructors or not? Do you think that those teaching children should have some training other than being a martial artist?

Some schools claim to be "experts with children" yet I don't understand this. I mean, I am a parent and voluteer with children, yet I would not be so bold to say I was an expert with children - hell, I am far from it. They amuse me, baffle me, and often I find them the best reflection of life.

:asian:

OP
E

elcajon555

I don;t think those who teach children should have other qualifications then martial arts. Those who teach learn how to teach regardless of the subject material. Those who teach children will learn how to teach children. I have been teaching TKD for 4 and a half years and I have become good at teaching in general. I know how to learn and teach and my only experience has been throught martial arts. And I am just as good of a teacher as anyone who as a degree. Degrees don't make you good at something, experience makes you good at something. And the more experience you have with teaching children the better you will become. I believe you should know the material that you are teaching and that is all, learning how to teach will come with time.

OP
L

lifewise

elcajon555 said:
"I know how to learn and teach and my only experience has been throught martial arts. And I am just as good of a teacher as anyone who as a degree. Degrees don't make you good at something, experience makes you good at something. "

I am not suggesting you need a degree to teach. Degrees don't necessarily make you good at something - I fully agree with that. However, a degree or any formal education gives you knowledge to build on.

At the bare minimum, instructors in ANY childrens program should take a recognized coaching course and first aid.

elcajon555 said: