Which karate school in Sunnyvale Bay area CA

Rach

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi everybody,

I have a wonderful seven year old son. He has been going to karate classes for past 3 months. It seems now that he wants to continue and work towards his black belt. The school he goes to right now is kind of expensive and very commercialized. Now that he seriously wants to learn karate (I have no knowledge of karate except for the fact that I believe it can be an important life skill and obviously I love martial arts), I really need to find out which school to go to. Learning karate is going to be about 5-6 years of commitment of time and money (Money wise at the current school it is going to be about $8000-10000 commitment). So I want to make sure my son goes to a school where he can learn good self defense techniques and self discipline techniques.
I joined this forum specifically to learn from the wisdom of other learned members. Please advice me which form of karate (shotokan or kenpo) is a good base to start with. I tried to read on internet and have become more confused than ever. Also, if u know of any good school in Sunnyvale area (Cupertino, Sunnyvale, Los Altos), please advice.

Thanks,
Rach

terryl965

<center><font size="2"><B>Martial Talk Ultimate<BR
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Welcome to the forum we have alot of knowedgable people here, maybe tell us what you are really wanting for a seven year old that the school he is going to does not provide. What I mean there is only so much onje can teach a seven year old with SD type principles. Can you give mare info aabout the current school.

Grenadier

Sr. Grandmaster
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Hello Rach,