Where do/did you train

In what type of setting did/do you train?

• In a commercial school

• In a non-commercial school (YMCA, Recreation Dept, Church, College Club, etc.).

• In both commercial and non-commercial classes.

• In a home, garage, outdoor setting, or backyard.

• In both a home and commercial location.

• In both a home and non-commercial setting.

• Privately in my home or my instructors home.

• In all settings, commercial, non-commercial, homes, garages, outdoors.

• Self taught with the assistance of books and video.

• In the Shaolin Temple.

Results are only viewable after voting.

John Bishop

Master Black Belt
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
This poll is to complement the one asking where instructors teach.
This time the question is, where were you taught?

Also, let us know your views on the type of program you trained in.
Good Points?
Bad Points?

How did your financial situation effect your choice of training settings?

MJS

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
Started my training in the dojo. The people that I train with outside of the school, some takes place in the dojo and some in the backyard/garage setting. I think that working out outside and wearing street clothes is great! It gives you a better feel as to what you can do, compared to always weraing a loose fitting gi. Also, working out outside gives you a feel for moving around on the pavement, not just on the carpet, wood floors, or mats that are commonly found in the dojo. I think that this is something that is often neglected.

The money situation- That was not really an issue, considering that most of the schools around pretty much all charged the same amount. The workouts outside of the school--that is just getting together with others and training. You don't need a fancy school to get good instruction!

Mike

James Kovacich

Senior Master
Reaction score