When is enough enough?

Phoenix44

Master of Arts
Reaction score
I started thinking about this after reading Xue Sheng's "Hard Decision" thread. I'm hoping I can count on my colleagues at Martial Talk for some considered advice and ideas.

I've been training at the same dojo for many years. I took private lessons for most of those years, attended classes several times per week, attended seminars, trained hard, came up through the ranks, and I am an instructor with a regular assignment. I've had no extended absence.

Suffice it to say that this is no McDojo, sensei has decades of experience which he continues to expand, we have a long history, but there are relatively few black belts. We have formal rituals in class, but a warm atmosphere. We consider each other friends. Some of us train in other arts, with sensei's permission, and we bring our skills back to the dojo.

So here's the issue. The kyu level classes have a clear curriculum; dan level does not. And while I know I've improved over the years, recently I've felt a lack of "direction". All my colleagues who made shodan at the same time I did--and some who tested after me--have advanced to nidan. More than 7 years passed since I tested for shodan, and I have not advanced in rank. Without a clear curriculum, I can't guess what the issue is--certainly sensei hasn't told me what I'm doing wrong, or what I should be doing right. As far as asking about it, it feels a little unseemly, you know?