what would you do?

drummingman

Blue Belt
Reaction score
i have been trying to find a martial art that i would like to take for awhile.right now im doing a bunch of research because im nursing an injury and i hope to start up something when it gets better.
i have fond a place that is about 15 min from my work that teaches goju ryu karate that looks cool.im going to watch a class tomorrw night.
i also found a place that teaches jkd that is about an hour away from my work.the reason why it matters how far away it is from my work is because i teach drums for a living and i get off work between 6 and 8 pm.so i will have to be going to class after work.
lets say that both teachers are great and from what i know both styles are geard towards self defense which is what im looking for.so with these things in mind which do you all think i should choose? like i said the jkd class is an hour away but i want to know if you all think its worth making the drive or if i should start up with the goju ryu karate?

Hand Sword

Grandmaster
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
In the Void (Where still, this merciless GOD torme
1. A closer commute never hurts-lol.
2. JKD has a lot to it. IMHO, very difficult for a newbie to "get". Probably better to try it out once you have a good base.
3.The Karate will give you a solid base and foundation to build from.

Carol

Crazy like a...
MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
The commute alone would turn me off.

I used to have a commute to a school that was nearly an hour...sometimes more if traffic was bad.

It was a rough drive to make. The most difficult part of the drive was going back home after a hard workout and trying to stay alert behind the wheel. The more-frequent trips to the pump sucked up a lot of cash. It really stunk to have days where I had to make the choice between training and driving a long distance in dangerous weather. The experience was draining.