what type of stretching for higher kicks?

R

Rahde

I know that dynamic stretching helps higher kicks but I'm just starting out in MA and my legs are ridicoulsy unflexible. bending down I can get my hands about 2-3 inches from my feet and I can get my sidekicks slightly more than waist level but they lack any power. I've heard that I should do some static stretching to get myself a basis of flexibility first before doing dynamic ones. is that true? or should I only do dynamic?

TigerWoman

Senior Master
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
Welcome Rahde to the board. There has been lots about stretching and flexibility regarding higher kicks. The Search arrow on the blue panel above will help bring up the posts and you could probably readily see the ones you may be interested in.

First do mobility stretches,neck, shoulders, torso, knees, ankles, then dynamic rising kicks, front kicks, rising back kicks. Then workout, warmup those muscles for thirty minutes. Slow kicks front, round, side and holding them for a couple sec. are a great flexiblity builder and can be added to the workout. Also crescents, axe, hook and spin heels when you are ready to add them to your technique list. Then after warmed, you can do isometric side or static front splits or just plain ones stretching longer. The static stretches are at the end, last thing you do before you walk out the door. TW

OP
I

InvisibleFist

Rahde said:
I know that dynamic stretching helps higher kicks but I'm just starting out in MA and my legs are ridicoulsy unflexible. bending down I can get my hands about 2-3 inches from my feet and I can get my sidekicks slightly more than waist level but they lack any power. I've heard that I should do some static stretching to get myself a basis of flexibility first before doing dynamic ones. is that true? or should I only do dynamic?