What to start with?

shane23ss

Blue Belt
Reaction score
I was wondering of the people here that teach, what do you start with when teaching a new student? Do you start with the basics and the importance of the basics or do you usually start with a technique or two to "get their attention"? If you start with a technique or two, which one(s) do you usually start with and where do you go from there?

dubljay

Master of Arts
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
First off I have little experience teaching, however what I have learned I will gladly share.

When teaching anyone at all it is important to go at their pace. Go too slow they will get bored and disinterested, go to fast they will feel they cant keep up.

As for new students, I begin with a technique or two. I break the technique down completely. In the technique I explain many basics. In my opinion having a frame of reference for principles will aid in understanding of the basics.

For example

I usually pick Delayed Sword as one of the first techniques I will teach.
Delayed Sword is for defense against a right punch. You step back with your left foot and block on the inside of the arm. Grab the opponents wrist with your left hand deliver a lead leg front kick to the groin followed by a right outward chop to the neck.

I use this technique to explain stances, power principles, guidelines for blocking.

I think it helps the person understand the principles when they have a frame of reference to apply them to.

I usually dont got much farther than a couple techniques for the first couple of lessons so they get the idea of the principles.

I hope this helps.

-Josh-

OP
shane23ss

shane23ss

Blue Belt
Reaction score
Yeah, that's what I was looking for. I just wanted people's personal opinion on what the best way to start some one is.

KenpoTess

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score