what to fill wall bag with?

dan.h

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I've heard of a few different things but not sure what would be the best? I'm still a beginner with just 1 year experience and this will be on my garage wall via some plywood. It is a 3-section bag. I've heard: tossed sand grain (aquarium tank type), mung beans, rice or plastic beads.

Any suggestions on which one? Also, when I'm putting my wall bag up, being that I'm 6'7", should I have the top of the 3 sections eye level and the middle second below that? There's not many people who I'd be punching in the face my height. lol

Thanks!

wtxs

Brown Belt
Reaction score
I've heard of a few different things but not sure what would be the best? I'm still a beginner with just 1 year experience and this will be on my garage wall via some plywood. It is a 3-section bag. I've heard: tossed sand grain (aquarium tank type), mung beans, rice or plastic beads.

Any suggestions on which one? Also, when I'm putting my wall bag up, being that I'm 6'7", should I have the top of the 3 sections eye level and the middle second below that? There's not many people who I'd be punching in the face my height. lol

Thanks!

Assuming you are just starting to play with the wall bag, go with the rice or beans, give your skin and bones to have time to adjust and toughing up before going up to the harder stuff.

I would suggest you mount the bag at the correct level to train your techniques and body structures ... I center of the top bag at my eye level, aka punch to the face/head area.

Have fun ...

Eric_H

Black Belt
Reaction score
Hello Dan,

In the beginning I've used both mung beans and sand. Out of the two I've preferred mung beans for the first 6 months or so. Then added rice, then replaced altogether with sand.