What sword discipline/kata is this?

72ronin

Purple Belt
Reaction score
Greetings,

OK, im certainly not looking to promote/criticise this demo, personaly i have no background with sword training so i have no real grasp as to its quality etc,
However, constructive comments to that nature are welcome as to the quality of the demo in relation to his handling/grip/movements etc

The question i would like to ask is, What discipline/kata is he doing?.
I suspect ofcourse it is Iaido or a similar sword discipline, but any demonstration i have seen in respect to laido seemed to concentrate mainly on drawing and a strike or two then returning the sword etc
I guess im just trying to place A/ what discipline he is performing ie; Iaido? etc and B/ what set/form or kata is he performing?

cheers

Last edited by a moderator:

Chris Parker

Grandmaster
Reaction score
Honestly, the fellow "demonstrating" here has no idea of quality, either, frankly.

Uh, it's nothing to do with Japanese Sword Arts other than someone thinking that just because they've reached a certain level in one art that they can automatically do any other art they watch once....

It is no discipline, it is no art, and it is no kata.

If it helps, though, he's not alone....

WARNING: If you are having a drink, or eating a meal, finish what you have before you click on this. Seriously.

[yt]zL7jF8qx2OI[/yt]

OP
72ronin

72ronin

Purple Belt
Reaction score
Thankyou Chris.
! The vid you posted... his head bobbed around a bit!.. And the footwork!
Thanks for the warning lol, Coffee and keyboards dont mix LOL.

Its a shame - the vid i posted.. Why the hell do they not seek appropriate training if they are to take on swords into the syllabus?
Seriously, how hard can it be, if one was the head of an Org. and decided to bring swords into the curriculum, to study an appropriate amount of sword discipline first so as to give the students a legitimate base of core skills?

Damn that ticks me off, its just unprofessional.