What Made You Switch?

Yeti

Black Belt
Reaction score
Wondering if anyone left a different martial art to start Wing Chun, and then never looked back.

If so, what was your original art, why did you leave it and why did you stay with Wing Chun?

tellner

Senior Master
Reaction score
With me it was kinda the opposite, so I'll just keep quiet :)

tellner

Senior Master
Reaction score
I had left my then-school because of a training injury that was the result of stupid negiligence on their part. My wife was with a JKD teacher (Rick Faye) who had an extensive Wing Chun background. I started training with a local teacher and was enjoying it well enough.

A couple things bugged me. First was the constant refrain that it was unbeatable as long as your Wing Chun was good enough. Second, my legs couldn't physically do the goat-riding stance. My feet naturally point out at about 90 degrees.

After my wife moved back to the West Coast I found a teacher in another system who was simply head and shoulders above everyone else within a day's drive. He could have been teaching just about anything and I would have dropped what I was doing to train with him.

OP
Yeti

Yeti

Black Belt
Reaction score
Wow.
Sounds like you had a bad instructor for sure.
Glad you found a way to keep training though - no matter the style.

Carol

Crazy like a...
MT Mentor
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Wow.
Sounds like you had a bad instructor for sure.
Glad you found a way to keep training though - no matter the style.

Indeed. That was kind of stunning to read. I mean...I certainly have my opinions about training and what I like but an "unbeatable" mantra would get to me as well.