What is Taekwondo's Signature move?

T

ThuNder_FoOt

Which kick would you categorize as Taekwondo's signature move? If you could summarize TKD into one move, what would it be? I realize that TKD isn't limited to only one move, but I'm speaking in terms of recognizing others practicing the art. If you are observing someone practicing, which move identify's TKD for you?

:asian:

ThuNdeR_FoOT
.::FOOT CLAN::.

Mithios

Green Belt
Reaction score
People outside Tae Kwon-Do would say the jumping spin kicks. But in TKD i would say the side kick, in partcular the side thrust kick. In my 23 years in TKD i have noticed that korean and other masters will want to see that kick first and will actually judge a person's ability by that kick. I even find myself doing it !! And when i started Hapkido 16 years ago the side kick was the first thing Master Choi wanted to see and that was even before I started training with him. So thats my 2 cents , hope it helps!! MITHIOS

OP
R

RCastillo

Since I do ITF, I'll go with the side kick also. It's prevelant in many of the forms.:asian:

OP
T

ThuNder_FoOt

I think I would agree with the side kick. Many people judge you based on how well a side kick can be done. But if I were going to recognize someone practicing TKD, I would have to say the Axe kick would be th giveaway for me. From what I've seen, TKD players throw it a way that is reasily identifiable.:asian:

OP
G

Galvatron

The "45" roundhouse, axe kick, and back kick are definitely the three most thown kicks in (WTF) Taekwondo.

OP
A

A.R.K.

Which kick would you categorize as Taekwondo's signature move?

Charging $500+ for a BB test for an 8yr old...:rofl: :boing2:

Sorry, I've been fighting the urge to post that since this thread was started and I finally gave in. :p

OP
R

RCastillo

Originally posted by A.R.K.

Sorry, I've been fighting the urge to post that since this thread was started and I finally gave in. :p

Whoa, back up here. That's WTF, only!!!:)

OP
D

Disco