What is fook sau?

bully

Purple Belt
Supporting Member
Reaction score
So, I am trying to show my missus some basic shapes.

I will post plans as to why pretty soon.

She hasnt done any ma apart from some basic kickboxing but more for fitness than anything.

Showed her bong, tan, pak and gan. We done the stance and I showed her the first part of SLT.

She has intelligence (not taking the piss) with regards to physics and fitness etc and to be fair she is a damn sight fitter than I am (not difficult).

So she gets bong, tan etc but when I showed her fook she looked at me funny and asked what it is for. Fair question and as a relative novice myself, what do I answer??

It looks bloody weird and when it comes to the real world, ie boxing and getting hit....what is a easy way to explain what it is for?

Any help is good, and what else should I show her?? Sensible suggestions only as we have been married for 8 years she has seen most other things of mine:angel:

Cheers

Bully

yak sao

Senior Master
Reaction score
When you send your arms forward down the center, if you do not encounter a barrier, then you strike. If however, you do meet an obstruction, it's going to be either on top of your arm, in which case your arm changes to bong sau or tan sau depending on the force given. If you encounter the obstruction and your arm is on top, then you would use fook sau or kau sau again depending on the force given.
Or, thought of another way, when punching, if your arm is on the inside of their arm, you wedge upward toward their face, if it is on the outside of their arm you wedge downward Which is pretty much fook sau.
My si-fu is cantonese and I believe he said the literal definition of fook is "overcoming." I'm not 100% certain on that.

zepedawingchun

Black Belt
Reaction score