what is david carradines MA background

Bill Mattocks

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
As I understand it, David Carradine had no background in MA when he started in the TV show, "Kung Fu," but he came to learn a lot and put out some videos and books on various CMA's, including Tai Chi. Sorry, that's all I know.

Twin Fist

Grandmaster
Reaction score
not much. Everything on the tv show and in the movies were stunt men.

he did some tai chi, but other than that, i dont know that he ever actually studied anything other than what he needed to for roles.

Archangel M

Senior Master
Reaction score
"I'm not a martial artist...but I played one on TV."

Balrog

Master of Arts
Reaction score
As I understand it, David Carradine had no background in MA when he started in the TV show, "Kung Fu," but he came to learn a lot and put out some videos and books on various CMA's, including Tai Chi. Sorry, that's all I know.
You are correct.

terryl965

<center><font size="2"><B>Martial Talk Ultimate<BR
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Yes but he sure did play the right roles. I mean you would have thought he had formal training.

Flying Crane

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
In addition to training he received for his TV and movie roles, he trained under Kam Yuen in LA area. Kam teaches something called Tai Mantis, I believe, tho I know he studied under Wong Jack Man in San Francisco which would make his background Shaolin and such. Kam assisted Mr. Carradine with his taiji video productions, and I believe has his own taiji videos as well. My sifu told me that he would sometimes show his own students these videos as an example of what taiji is not.

Exactly how extensively Mr. Carradine studied with him is something of a mystery to me. About 20 years ago, Carradine published a book on kung fu, and it was very suggestive that he had reached a respectably high level. Of course it was his book, writing about himself, so that automatically brings in a grain or two of salt.