What exactly are "Master Keys"?

Goldendragon7

Grandmaster
Reaction score
I am confused as to some posts on Master Keys.

Some say "targets" are Master keys, some say certain techniques are, some say a neutral bow is,
:confused: I'm lost!

Just what are these things?

:confused:

Old Fat Kenpoka

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
I studied Shotokan for a couple years in college. They have the concept of Master Keys...

Master keys can exist at many levels. At the most elemental level, a stance such as the Neutral Bow is a Master key. You can transition easily from a neutral bow to any other stance and then back again to a neutral bow. Many techniques and basics start or end in this stance.

On a slightly higher level, a basic such as a front snap kick or reverse punch is a master key. The elements of these movements cocking/chambering, extinding with proper rotation and alignment, recoiling upon completion combine to form a master key.

In Shotokan, Kanku Dai Kata is considered a master key. The techniques in this Kata form the basis of all other Kata techniques in Shotokan. All other Katas and techniques are related to those in Kanku Dai. I think the close parallel in Kenpo would be some of the movements in Yellow, Orange and Purple belt techniques that are repeated or modified in more advanced Kenpo techniques.

D

dcence

Well, heck, if you are confused, what hope have we then?

I am sure you have your arms around this, but are asking a rhetorical question for discussion's sake. I am going to insert below something I wrote on the KenpoNet a few days ago and ask for your (and anyone else's) comments in furtherance of the discussion. Because I think the term master key is used where it is not meant to apply by the kenpo community, especially in regards to "master key techniques".

So here is what I wrote, and would appreciate any comments: