what do you think of Piper?

xfighter88

Blue Belt
Reaction score
So i randomly ran across a piper knife video on you tube. Any thoughts on this system? I have dome some escrima but not enough to have an informed opinion of differing knife systems.

jks9199

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
I'm skeptical on their claims. There's a couple of threads about them if you search around.

But, hey, they train pretty hard.

Brian R. VanCise

MT Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
Like Jks9199 I am skeptical of their claims as well. Still I have no first hand experience with them so until then it is hard to base a solid opinion.
icon6.gif

K831

Black Belt
Reaction score
This thread made me curious so I cruised over to youtube...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l6MbpWBZqoA&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JPIUhrD_yac&feature=related

I don't get it. It looks ridiculous to me. I don't see the angles, checks, range or anything that would make me think it was functional. I think it is hilarious that they throw the knife from hand to hand... That's the kind of thing you pray someone will do when attacking you with a knife. Not to mention the tracking their inner forearms with the blade...someone with a little speed and sensitivity may help that knife hit that forearm after that many rolls in a row.

Now, to be fair, I just saw some quick clips, but I gotta say, not impressed so far.

lklawson

Grandmaster
Reaction score
I think it is hilarious that they throw the knife from hand to hand...
Throw? I haven't seen the clips yet (net nannied - I'll have to SmartPhone them later). Are they actually letting go of the knife, getting "air time" transferring it from hand to hand?

I know that there are several knife styles which transfer hands such as Spanish Navaja, but they always use a positive grip transfer.

I'm really curious now.

Peace favor your sword,
Kirk

lklawson

Grandmaster
Reaction score