What do you teach a 5 year old and how do you keep their attention?

Dragon Fist

Blue Belt
Reaction score
Hi Guys,
I have been asked by my son's daycare to do a 30 minute program for the kids for this summer. They are from 5 years old to kinder. I was thinking of setting up some kind of obstacle course to help them improve their balance and coordination. I was wondering is someone who has experience teaching 5 year olds, would be kind enough to give me some pionters, rutine or drill that I can use.

Your input is greatly appreciated

kidswarrior

Senior Master
Reaction score
While I'm no expert, I feel for ya', so will try to throw out a couple of ideas. I'd probably keep it simple: obstacle course may be tough for those who aren't great natural athletes (but I've only ever taught one kid below age 9, so I could be all wet--she is a K student, tho).

If you want an MA flavor, maybe teach the bow from one of your arts, with symbolism (old 'peace over power' or 'sheath covers weapon' thing), tho' wouldn't talk for too long. This would get them moving a little bit in a warmup activity.

Then, I personally would teach a short routine. Kung Fu San Soo's 8 Basic Foot Movements could be a lot of fun (esp w/ a little application thrown in--e.g., cat stance can take you away from bad man's reach, etc.). Think there's a diagram on Master Paul Borisoff's website (he's a member here, as are some of his students). And as all 'basics', you can actually study these 8 simple movements for years and still be seeing new applications, further caveats in stances & transitions, etc.

Anyway, if not that, maybe s.th. like it. Then they can go home and tell Mom and Dad they 'learned karate'. Fun time all around.

Keep us posted!

sholo86

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
The key is to make a game out of the "exercise." An obstacle course like you said is a good one. Here are my suggestions: