were were you when the world stopped turning?

OP
Archangel M

Archangel M

Senior Master
Reaction score
I was on the way out of the station after a court appearance. I stopped in front of a television just in time to see the second plane strike.

Bill Mattocks

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I was traveling for a living in those days. I had landed at LAX the day before, I was working at JPL in Pasadena. I saw the second plane strike live on CNN; I was up early having a coffee and a smoke before starting my day. My wife called me; it was a hectic day; her family is all from NYC. I was on a different discussion forum at the time and I used some back-channel communications ability I had to reach some relatives of some of my forum friends who could not get through on the normal phone lines. Just doing what I could to help out.

I was stuck in the Pasadena Hilton for 2 weeks. Not so bad considering what my coworkers went through, sleeping on cots in Canadian high schools where their planes had been forced down that morning.

elder999

El Oso de Dios!
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
I was asleep. Worked a long shift the night before, got home at 6:30, asleep by 7. Woke up by Rita's (that's the wife) phone call, and told her to come on home. Didn't have TV-cable or satellite, and hadn't since 1993. Got TV and watched nothing else for the next month......can't even get into how much my life changed.

When I was a kid in Manhattan, I watched the World Trade Center being built-saw it when it was just a hole in the ground. Never thought I'd see it be a hole in the ground again.

WC_lun

Senior Master
Reaction score