Weapons and Wing Chun

Si-Je

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Do you apply WC/WT principles to your favorite weapons? Or just stick to the traditional WC/WT weaponry?
If you do apply WC/WT to other types of weapons, how do you do it?

bs10927

Orange Belt
Reaction score
i just started learning Eskrima and so far, i can say i've used a pak sao when drilling with the knife. With a single stick, i guess it could be considered i use an (inside?) pak with the stick before checking the hand and striking.
Then with empty hand we've done a drill where I would pak (with left hand) the right thrown at me then check the hand like a lop sau (with my right) and then throw a left elbow up into their elbow as if to break it.

Yoshiyahu

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Great question, Actually the weapons in Wing Chun were added later by different people. The short swords and pole were not originally apart of Wing Chun. I don't have the history in front of me right now but I will soon get it for you guys on who introduced the two weapons.

An the founder of my lineage also using darts as weapons.

ha ha...

But two things I see you may disagree. But the Short swords form can also used as blade hand form. Or empty hand form if you will. You can use your hands to chop or thrust your opponent. But it will be more effective if your condition your fingers and hands to be like iron when clashing.

Another thing is with the short sword one could use two broad swords the same way. Or two samauri swords in a similair way.

Another weapon would be a spear. The staff weapon is grandfather of all weapons. The spear is father of all weapons. So that means the Spear can be used or adapted the same way the staff is used in Pole form.

These are just some things I observe.

you can disagree if you like its my humble opinion!

Do you apply WC/WT principles to your favorite weapons? Or just stick to the traditional WC/WT weaponry?
If you do apply WC/WT to other types of weapons, how do you do it?