Warhammers and Maces

SFC JeffJ

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I was wondering if anyone could point me towards recourses about fighting with warhammers and maces. I'll be getting my warhammer today and should be receiving my mace in the next couple of weeks. I have lots of stuff already about western sword work, but am having trouble finding anything on these weapons.

Thanks,

Jeff

Whitebelt

Blue Belt
Reaction score
I'm not an expert in this field so I'm probably going to get flamed for this, but here goes.

These being western weapons(and very blunt ones at that), I don't think there are many/any styles oriented around these weapons. I think the wester approach to battle with warhammers and maces was along the lines of: "I'm going into battle, but i dont have a sword...I know! I'll grab the bashyest thing i can lift and hit someone with it! Its bound to work!"

Blindside

Grandmaster
Founding Member
Reaction score
Whitebelt said:
I'm not an expert in this field so I'm probably going to get flamed for this, but here goes.

These being western weapons(and very blunt ones at that), I don't think there are many/any styles oriented around these weapons. I think the wester approach to battle with warhammers and maces was along the lines of: "I'm going into battle, but i dont have a sword...I know! I'll grab the bashyest thing i can lift and hit someone with it! Its bound to work!"

Not a flame, but the warhammer was a bit more complicated than that.

Jeff, Hans Talhoffer's 1467 manual was translated and published several years ago, the translation and editing was by Mark Rector. The warhammer section actually is more about the two-handed version probably better described as a poleaxe. Good stuff.

I am not as familiar with the Flos Duelletorum document by Liberi, but from the pictures it has a section on the warhammer/poleaxe such as:
http://www.thehaca.com/pdf/Dl27.jpg
http://www.thehaca.com/pdf/Dl26.jpg