Value in learning TSD with HRD

lulflo

Blue Belt
Reaction score
Farang.

I have been studying HRD since 2000 and am at half black now. I have recently started studying with a new teacher with another set of techniques that he has been teaching me. I discovered that the techniques are TSD and it has been brought up to me to that I will be learning all of these techniques that were not in HRD training and testing for my black belt in TSD and then test for my black sash in HRD.

I am seeing a definite benefit learning TSD as a half black HRD because I can understand more of the corrections that my teacher makes in class. I think it is a great way to go through the information of all of my belts and learn them again from a different perspective. The great part for me too is that my instructor is showing me how to teach the techniques I'm learning so I can be more effective in training others.

I am wondering how many other HRD people out there have gone through TSD as well as HRD before or after their Black Sash?

Also any comments are invited.

Farang - Larry

stoneheart

Purple Belt
Reaction score
Larry, when you say TSD do you mean Tae Soo Do, Joo Bang Lee's stripped down creation of HRD, or do you mean Tang Soo Do, Taekwondo's close cousin?

ancient warrior

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
hello all, i have trained in tae soo do and hrd . there is great benefits from taking tsd first like it will set the foundation for the future in hrd ...

OP
lulflo

lulflo

Blue Belt
Reaction score
Yes Sir,

Speaking of Tae Soo Do. I think it is a good way to focus on the basics, especially as it has happened for me, to see the material after studying HRD for 7 years.

Farang

shesulsa

Columbia Martial Arts Academy
MT Mentor
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score