Use of the internet in your dojang?

Makalakumu

Gonzo Karate Apocalypse
MT Mentor
Reaction score
How do you use the internet in your dojang? I ask this question because the use of the internet is so ubiquitous and it really is a powerful learning tool for the martial practicioner. I can envision people having websites, discussion boards, and perhaps even a separate room from the training floor where SMART technology could be employed. Of course, I'm a teacher IRL, so I think about these things. So, what do you do?

JoelD

Green Belt
Reaction score
I just created a website for my SBD studio a few months back along with a discussion forum (link is in my profile if youre interested in seeing it). Not a whole lot of the studio members are posting on a regular basis yet but alot of people check it often to keep up to date on gup testings, regional events etc. As far as it being a training tool of any kind, not really (yet), but it could be once studio members start to post more often. it could easily be a great place for dojang members to help one another. As you said, the internet can be a wonderful learning tool and a great place for information exchange.

JWLuiza

Black Belt
Reaction score
How do you use the internet in your dojang? I ask this question because the use of the internet is so ubiquitous and it really is a powerful learning tool for the martial practicioner. I can envision people having websites, discussion boards, and perhaps even a separate room from the training floor where SMART technology could be employed. Of course, I'm a teacher IRL, so I think about these things. So, what do you do?

I want to start posting more video of youtube... more as a way to show students improvement over time. Many forums tend to fail with a small number of posters if the topics are confined. I'm sure there are plenty of ways the internet can be used. The most useful for me so far has been examples of well performed forms and jujutsu techniques.

JoelD

Green Belt