Tucson school district sued over fight

Kacey

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Tucson school district sued over fight

TUCSON- A playground fight has led to a lawsuit by an elementary-school student and his mother against the Tucson Unified School District.
The student, Cody Barber, was playing tag during a physical-education class at John B. Wright Elementary School, when he was attacked by another student, according to the lawsuit filed in Pima County Superior Court.
The alleged attacker was not identified in the suit. He knocked Cody to the ground, kicked him once and severely lacerated his spleen, said plaintiff's attorney Richard Gonzales.
...The victim's mother, Leonor Barber, accused the school district of negligence because the boy who allegedly attacked Cody had a history of behavioral issues, had been placed "on restriction" and wasn't supposed to be participating in the class.

As a special education teacher, I can see both sides of this. Students with disabilities are protected by federal law from the consequences of their actions (at least sometimes) when their actions are caused by their disabilities. When the student has a severe cognitive disability or other developmental delay, this protection is absolutely necessary - students who are cognitively or developmental delays are often unaware of the consequences of their actions, and/or incapable of controlling their responses to stressful situations. Such legal protection is necessary for them to attend school, as well as other public venues.