Treadmills - the path to the dark side...

wee_blondie

Blue Belt
Reaction score
Ouch - I'm on an oil rig (again) and like to try to keep up my training while away from home. As you can imagine, space is pretty limited and as such means very little gym space. Usuallly my workouts would consist of 20mins rowing/cross trainer; 30mins of isometrics; 10mins CV; 10mins weights and then a 10min cool-down.

This rig however only has free weights and an old old treadmill. So, I got on the tread and did about 10km in total. For the last three days my right inside thigh (think its an abductor) has been awfully painful. Without being able to go to a pharmacy or see the doc is there anything I can do? Stretches etc?? I'm not going home for another week.

Thanks.

Jonathan Randall

Senior Master
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
First, if you haven't already done so, discontinue the exercise that you believe caused it. As to what else to do, I'm not a doctor and am wary of giving or taking medical advice on the net. Sorry. Hope it gets better for you.

BTW, my older sister does a routine similiar to the first you mentioned and she can work me into the ground!

Take care.

exile

To him unconquered.
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
First, if you haven't already done so, discontinue the exercise that you believe caused it. As to what else to do, I'm not a doctor and am wary of giving or taking medical advice on the net. Sorry. Hope it gets better for you.

BTW, my older sister does a routine similiar to the first you mentioned and she can work me into the ground!

Take care.

Heather, I'll just echo what Jonathan has told you, with emphasis on not doing anything that might aggravate whatever caused the pain. If something's gone amiss, stretching can aggravate it. I've never yet enountered a serious pain that stretching was able to remedy. And if it turns out to be something really minor, you won't have lost that much in the way of conditioning.