Traditional Blocks

M

Mark Weiser

SGM Parker in his books and thur his black belts always stressed learning the basics because all the Techniques in Kenpo are just extensions of basics. So I have to say a big YES

Doc

Senior Master
Reaction score
Hand Sword said:
I'm a newbie here, and would like to throw out this question. Do traditional blocks truly work in a real self defense situation?
What "traditional" blocks are you speaking of? Your question is extremely broad and very non-specific in information.

loki09789

Senior Master
Reaction score
Hand Sword said:
I'm a newbie here, and would like to throw out this question. Do traditional blocks truly work in a real self defense situation?
Yes, they can work. The question is can you as practitioner make them work?

The thing about Kenpo is functionallity. The 'blocks' are not just 'blocks' but are mechanical structures/force generators. At first you learn to apply them to a stimulus of a strike as a way to stop the strike from connecting cleanly (I specify cleanly because sometimes you will still catch a piece of it).

As time goes on in training, hopefully, you begin to realize that you are not 'blocking a strike' so much as using force to 'disrupt the limb/attack' and therefore causing pain/temporary or permanent dysfunction of that tool/weapon for attack. Simply put, you are 'attacking the attack' with your blocking motions.

The Kai

Master of Arts
Reaction score
Also most Hard Block are training exercises, full range of motion, chambering to hip, etc.-in a situation or sparring they can be altered or adapted to the situation.
Todd

loki09789

Senior Master
Reaction score
The Kai said:
Also most Hard Block are training exercises, full range of motion, chambering to hip, etc.-in a situation or sparring they can be altered or adapted to the situation.
Todd