The Social Position as "Martial Artist"

Whitebelt

Blue Belt
Reaction score
There have been lots of threads lately about the stereotyping people get about being a martial artist. This made me think, why not embrace this. As a martial artist I think it is my duty to go about using my training for a good cause, without violence, simply rank. In school I am seen as a martial artist, and respected for it, not by ever kicking anyones face in, but by being simply a martial artist. This has, in the past, discouraged violence in my group of friends and simply in my perimiter.

So I would like to hear your views on this idea.

Thank you in advance.

IWishToLearn

3rd Black Belt
Reaction score
There's another thread which has essentially this same question going on. I'll try and find a link.

Kacey

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
It may be this one, but I'm not sure if that's the one you're thinking of.

hongkongfooey

Black Belt
Reaction score
I don't believe that my participation in a martial art automatically puts me on higher moral ground than the average non martial artist. If someone looks at me and thinks that I must be a better human being because I do martial arts, then they will be disappointed. I am human and don't always do the right thing. I'm not a role model, and I don't want to be.

tshadowchaser

Sr. Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Founding Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
why not just use the discipline that you learn in the martial arts to become a leader and a student that is respected for their caring ways and positive influence

Andy Moynihan

Senior Master
MT Mentor
Reaction score
People's Banana Republic of Massachusettstan, Disu